Korean Dramas

Since I have become disgruntled with the entertainment coming out of Hollywood (let’s just remake every movie that was ever made before today), I’ve turned my eyes to foreign entertainment.

It’s taken me on a fantastic journey. Earlier this year, I began my adventure into Bollywood films. There are still many I need to see, but in my cultural expansion of entertainment, I came across a new phenomenon. As I was researching online about Japan in preparation for my trip, somehow I came across sites similar to Netflix that stream Korean Dramas.

Interesting.

So being the adventurous soul I am, I had to check this out and I was not disappointed.

In the past ten years, the entertainment industry has come a long way. To prove my point, just watch the Harry Potter films from beginning to end. You can see how technology has improved making computer generated images look more realistic. Let’s be honest, those quidditch players at the end of the scene looked fake in that first movie. But then when you see the dementors in the last film…

Dementor's_mouth.jpg

WTF!?

It’s the same with Korean dramas. When you watch a K-drama from the early 2000s to now, you can definitely tell they’ve gained better lighting, lenses, and cameras.

It’s funny because I’m going to Japan and trying to prepare myself for the language, but I’ve watched so many K-dramas I really should be learning Korean.

In the following blog posts, I will begin to post more about movies and films I’ve watched from Korea. I find them fascinating and I need to share this with someone other than my roommate. I think she’s getting sick of me complain about fictional characters.

If you need some suggestions, however, here are some that I have watched or I am still in the process of completing: Boys Over Flowers, Oh My Venus, Heirs, Noble My Love, Descendants of the Sun, Moonlight Drawn By Clouds.

Tags: ,

About Heidi

Prepare yourself for the candid writings of a truth-seeker and my own unique brand of humor in any given situation. I don't beat around the bush...unless there are snakes... Some of these posts are rants. Some are memories. But mostly, they're just my experiences.

Leave a comment